Kinsella-ite

I’m practically in literary mourning at this moment, and I couldn’t wait to write a post until tomorrow! I’ve finished Wedding Night and Sophie Kinsella has once again left me both satisfied and devastated – the novel was hilarious and brilliant as usual, but I’m so sad that the story of my new ridiculous and silly and witty best friends is over!

I’m not going to lie and say that Wedding Night is my favourite Sophie Kinsella novel. Honestly, it’s almost impossible for me to pick a favourite because I have thoroughly enjoyed every single one of the books she has written, and I have enjoyed them all equally. I get the same tingly, excited feeling every time I crack the spine of a novel with her name on it, and the experience was no different with Wedding Night. I knew I was in for a treat, for a light, summery romance with whipped cream and a cherry on top…and an occasional shot of vodka or something strong and bitter, to represent those moments of serious embarrassment and poor judgment from my beloved heroines. If I am being perfectly honest though, I was and still am passionately obsessed with one of Kinsella’s other novels I’ve Got Your Number, and I don’t think anything else she’s written has been able to knock that particular story off the pedestal I’ve put it on! I seriously fantasize about re-reading that novel (And not only because of sexy Sam Roxton, okay! I liked Poppy too, and the overall premise…and okay Sam’s shining romantic declaration at the end is hard to forget and it does make my stomach all butterfly-ish when I think of it again, but I swear I loved the novel for more than just him!), and I most likely will do so sometime very soon! Wedding Night did effectively fill the void that I’ve Got Your Number left after I finished it, however, and I will say that Kinsella’s use of two different female narrators (and an occasional male narrator, Arthur) was really unique and refreshing (as I mentioned a few posts ago). I thought the novel was exactly what I needed it to be and what it promised to be: a light-hearted, fun, exciting tale of mishaps and misunderstandings and not so perfect but still absolutely irresistible love!

I’m going to go out on a limb here and say that I think Sophie Kinsella might be the Jane Austen of our time (and I’m speaking as a person with a Master’s degree in English, people, so I am kind of an expert on these sorts of things!)! Okay, Kinsella’s characters are admittedly sillier than your average Austen heroine, but that’s what makes her stories so accessible and satisfying. I’ve done many a stupid thing in the name of love (I can count several embarrassing things I did this weekend alone…yikes, maybe Lottie and Fliss are starting to rub off on me?! Not that I would really mind!), and reading a Sophie Kinsella novel helps me not only to get over these blunders but to actually become proud of them. And didn’t Elizabeth Bennet do some pretty inadvisable things in her day…like reject Mr. Darcy, for one? Didn’t Anne Elliot allow herself to get a touch overwhelmed and end up making some less than stellar choices? Don’t even get me started on Emma Woodhouse who would fit right into Kinsella’s literary world! Sophie Kinsella writes stories about real women and the things they’re worried about and concerned with, just like Jane Austen did way back in the 19th century…and Kinsella’s no stranger to irony and literary allusions either…she just has this way of making everything that happens in normal, mundane life to ordinary people about a bazillion times more fun! I said it in one of my last blog posts and I’ll say it again – if I can become a writer as sharp and humorous and creative as Sophie Kinsella, then I will be perfectly fulfilled and happy!

So Everyone, do it! Go out and buy Wedding Night and sit on a beach with a cocktail or in your backyard with a sunhat or on a patio with a plate of French fries and devour it! To get the craving started, I’ll leave you with my favourite passage from the novel…

“‘I see a brilliant answer to the whole problem. It’s retro! It’s tried and tested! Did Queen Victoria have sex before she married Albert? And was their marriage a huge success? Did she love him desperately and build a great big memorial to him in Hyde Park? Exactly. Did Romeo and Juliet have sex before they got married? …. Did Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy have sex before they got married?’” – Lottie

Wedding Night

Forever the Kinsella-ite,

JNG

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

5 thoughts on “Kinsella-ite

  1. Pingback: 2 Mini-Reviews and an Update ~ #JNGReads …and reads…and reads! | The World of my Green Heart

  2. On my list of things to do tomorrow…sitting on my patio with a plate of French fries reading Sophie Kinsella’s novel Wedding Night! Great review!

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

