The Truest Love

I’ve added a new quote to the ~Janille N G’s Favourite Quotes~ page and I wanted to write a brief note about it, to explain why I love it so much.

The book that inspired me to love literature so passionately.

“My future husband was becoming to me my whole world; and more than the world: almost my hope of heaven. He stood between me and every thought of religion, as an eclipse intervenes between man and the broad sun. I could not, in those days, see God for His creature: of whom I had made an idol.”

This line, obviously from none other than Jane Eyre, is one of my favourite lines in all of literature because I think it so expertly captures what I believe to be the very essence of true love.  I am a firm believer that true love is the most important force in the world, and I wish that I had written this particular line because Charlotte took my ideas about true love right from my brain and wrote them out more eloquently than I ever could.

True love is, for me, such a strong, formidable force.  It should be all-encompassing and passionate…and it should definitely leave both parties more committed to one another than to any other person, thing, activity or interest on the planet.  True love is everything.

But, as Jane seems to allude to in this line, true love is also incredibly dangerous.  It is so overwhelming that it can often cause a lover to forget the faults of their beloved.  This, although a romantic notion, can lead to tricky situations, especially if either member of the relationship is no longer able to be critical and to demand the respect that they deserve.  I know that it is so easy to fall in love with someone so deeply (whether a significant other, a family member or a best friend) and then find oneself settling for and accepting treatment that would otherwise be unacceptable.

I think Jane, or rather Charlotte, touches on both these ideas in the quotation.  She recognizes how powerful true love is – but also how critical we must all still be, even at the height of our emotion.  Instead of finding this idea to be depressing, I think that it is valid…and I think there is no harm in keeping a certain set of standards for a significant other because, after all, if they are the right person, they should meet every single one!

With immense love,

JNG

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

 

 

One thought on “The Truest Love

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

