Mrs. Rochester, The Second and Only

And they all lived happily ever after!

Like for real – I don’t think there has been a happier couple in all of literary history than Edward Fairfax Rochester and his young bride, Jane Rochester (née Eyre)!

I’ve come to the end of my billionth reading of Jane Eyre, and I am floating in clouds right now.  I’ve learned so much from the novel, even after learning the story practically by heart, and it’s time to put those lessons on paper (or online) for future reference…

What JANillE N G Learned from her Literary BFF, Jane Eyre:

1) “I heard her with wonder: I could not comprehend this doctrine of endurance; and still less could I understand or sympathise with the forbearance she expressed for her chastiser. Still I felt that Helen Burns considered things by a light invisible to my eyes. I suspected she might be right and I wrong…” – to endure everything, always and no matter what – to be strong!

2) further to #1 – “the trial, no longer to be shirked, must be firmly sustained.”

3) “‘I don’t think, sir, you have a right to command me, merely because you are older than I, or because you have seen more of the world than I have; your claim to superiority depends on the use you have made of your time and experience.’” – age and experience do NOT make a person superior!

4) “‘people will instinctively find out, as I have done, that it is not your forte to tell of yourself, but to listen while others talk of themselves…’” – do not reveal too much to those who are not trusted confidantes – but always listen with compassion!

5) “his face the object I best liked to see…” – true love is being (quite literally!) blind to everyone else!

6) “Miss Ingram was a mark beneath jealousy: she was too inferior to excite the feeling.” – to not be jealous of those who are unworthy!

7) “but I experienced firmer trust in myself and my own powers…” – CONFIDENCE!!!

8) further to #5 – “Mr. Rochester came thrice to my door in the course of it, to ask if I was safe and tranquil: and that was comfort, that was strength for anything.” – true love is strength, safety and security!

9) further to #7 – “I felt an inward power; a sense of influence, which supported me.”

10) “‘What will you do with your accomplishments? What, with the largest portion of your mind – sentiments – tastes?’ ‘Save them till they are wanted. They will keep.’” – not all talents need to be used at all times!

11) further to #7 and #9 – “It was my time to assume ascendancy. My powers were in play and in force.”

12) “To prolong doubt was to prolong hope.” – there is no need to worry until the worry is a certainty!

13) further to #5 and #8 – “‘It is a dream; such dreams as I have had at night when I have clasped her once more to my heart, as I do now; and kissed her, as thus – and felt that she loved me, and trusted that she would not leave me.’”

“‘And there is enchantment in the very hour I am now spending with you.’” – true love is MAGIC!!!

Jane Eyre and Jane Eyre have taught me so much in my young life, and I am so grateful to my friends from Thornfield for teaching me how to lead the life I have always dreamed of, and how to become a woman that I can be truly proud of.

May you all learn these same lessons from your own literary BFFs, whoever they may be!

JNG

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

5 thoughts on “Mrs. Rochester, The Second and Only

  1. Pingback: JNG at Home ~ A Flat Tour | The World of my Green Heart

  2. Pingback: Tale as Old as Time – #JNGWatches | The World of my Green Heart

  3. Pingback: The Fact in Fiction | The World of my Green Heart

  4. Pingback: Strong Jane – The Lessons Charlotte Taught Me – #JNGReads | The World of my Green Heart

  5. Pingback: The Perfect Weekend…and the Perfect Life – #JNGReads | The World of my Green Heart

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

