How to Dress Like a Vampire

It’s Thursday everybody!  Do you know what this means?  The Vampire Diaries is on tonight, and the end of the week just got a whole lot brighter!

Okay, I should qualify that last statement by explaining that I’ve been watching the TV show The Vampire Diaries since it came out ages ago…I’m pretty sure I was in my first year of university, and I got hooked immediately (mostly because of Nina Dobrev’s luxurious hair, which is the main reason I’ve been keeping my hair long for years)!  I did try reading the book series when the first season came out, but I found myself comparing everything to the show, so that didn’t work out too well! (Sidenote: I had the same problem when I read the novel Breakfast at Tiffany’s in grade twelve, after seeing the iconic movie with the legendary Audrey Hepburn – since then, I’ve decided never to see a movie or watch a TV show, if I do plan on reading the book, unless I read the literature first!)  Despite the highs and lows of the show, I’ve watched it loyally and devotedly this whole time…and because I’m a dedicated, committed person, I can’t and won’t stop now!

Let’s be honest, there are some beautiful people on this show (Don’t believe me?  Google The Vampire Diaries right now, I dare you!), and I really enjoy checking out what Elena (played by the aforementioned gorgeous fellow Canadian Nina Dobrev) is going to wear in every episode.  It gives me confidence (and always did, even during my terrifying university days), in a weird way, to try to emulate her style on the Fridays after I’ve watched the show – and today I decided to dress like a vampire at work in anticipation of the newest episode this evening.  So, of course, I decided I’d share this outfit quickly with all of you…the justification being that The Vampire Diaries is based on a novel, so therefore is literary, and that it’s a work of fantasy/sci-fi/fiction.  Also, I just really liked my outfit, so I wanted to show it off to my Lovely Readers!

(Sidenote: Please ignore the terrible quality of these photos…I’m not a photographer by any means, so I’m working with the measly resources I’ve got here!)

How to Dress Like a Badass Vampire (jewellery)

So, to start, here’s a photo of a bracelet that I believe a vampire would wear, just on your average day because…well…it’s made of skulls.  This is an obvious choice for a vampire in my mind, but I like that this bracelet is actually cute and kind of feminine what with the soft ivory skulls.  Let’s just say that I got away with wearing it to work, so I don’t think it’s really that ghastly!

How to Dress Like a Badass Vampire

And here is an incredibly grainy (Oopsie!) photo of my entire outfit.  I’m wearing a black turtleneck with black straight-legged pants – I thought all black would give me that extra vampire-ish, sexy swagger, and it definitely did!  Don’t you find your posture is just so much better when you wear all black?  I also paired it with high burgundy boots, which are difficult to see in this photo but are sort of an oxblood colour and naturally fitting for a blood sucker.  In that same vein (pun intended), I slapped on some bright red lipstick (which you can see more closely in my post ~How to Dress Like a Queen~).  Finally, I chose a silver heart necklace because I wanted something to really pop against the black ensemble.  The heart seemed like a good choice, considering that blood comes from hearts and vampires are dead and all that stuff.  Also, I think it’s really rustic looking and the chain is the perfect length to wear with a turtleneck.

There you have it – just a quick little piece about another literary-ish, fiction inspired outfit!  I hope you’re all enjoying these fun fashion posts as well as my more classic commentaries!

Have a Fan(g)tastic Thursday!

JNG

Vampire (?!) with a Green Heart

my green heart

One thought on “How to Dress Like a Vampire

  1. Pingback: Goodbye Old Friend – #JNGListens & #GoodbyeElena | The World of my Green Heart

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

