Kubla Confused

Some things never change apparently.

I’ve recently (as in, last night) finished watching the new Netflix original series Marco Polo.  Now, let me start by saying that if you are my boyfriend (SS) STOP READING THIS POST IMMEDIATELY!!! Do you hear me???  STOP READING NOW!!!  As lovely and supportive as you are, this is one blog post you don’t need to read.  K, thanks!

Now that we’ve got that out of the way, I have to admit that I didn’t love the show.  This admission would probably break my poor boyfriend’s heart since I’m pretty sure that he’s obsessed with it.  In my defense, I haven’t practiced martial arts for years and years like he has (Sidenote: And he’s a pro…excuse me a moment while I brag about him, but he’s seriously incredible!  I mean, he’s won gold medals in Ontario and everything…so yeah, my boyfriend is definitely badass!), and I don’t really know anything about history, so I found it difficult to follow the story.  But, I did really find the fighting scenes beautiful and artistically done, and I have actually asked SS to teach me some martial arts because I would love to be able to move my body like that…and because it never hurts to become a bit more badass!  The fight scenes aside, though, I wasn’t really grabbed by the show and I found it very difficult to keep track of the characters and different plot points.

But obviously I’m not going to tell SS that because I get how important it is to him.  (Sidenote: TV is very important to both of us and is a fundamental aspect of our relationship – we spent our entire first date talking about our favourite shows, which all happened to be the same!)  So, I decided that I would persevere and I made it to the end of the show…and in the process, I remembered a piece of literature I had studied in my undergrad that dealt with the same subject matter: Samuel Taylor Coleridge’s poem “Kubla Khan”.  I immediately decided to share it with SS because I thought it would be a good bonding tool for us!  (Not that we need any, but since he’s been mentioning lately how I never did get around to finishing Watchmen…oopsie…I thought it wouldn’t hurt to show a little extra interest in Marco Polo!)  This morning, I found a copy of the poem online and I sent it to him…

…but not before re-reading it and thinking that it was completely incomprehensible!  I found it difficult to understand in first year too, but I had hoped two successfully completed literature degrees would give me the knowledge to decipher it this time around.  No dice.  I’m still just as lost as ever.  The TA who gave the poem to me in first year was my absolute inspiration during my undergrad degree – I wanted to become her and I desperately wanted to say something significant about her favourite poem as a result.  Now, I want to impress my darn boyfriend and I still can’t say a single thing about it!  Okay, I’ve never been a poetry expert, but I swear I can’t even dissect a measly line of the text.  It’s so frustrating!  The poem is more difficult to understand than the TV show!

So, exactly zero boyfriends were impressed today by my fine poetry analyzing skills.  I blame Coleridge for this…and Wordsworth too, for good measure!

JNG

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

2 thoughts on “Kubla Confused

  1. We watched Two episodes of Marco Polo and we stopped! Obviously for the same reasons you did. Far from Marco’s historical facts as I remembered them in my early education.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    • I admit, I don’t know much at all about the historical context or accuracy…and I didn’t necessarily dislike the show. But I did find it difficult to follow and keep track of!

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

