When the Sun Shines – Where I Read

Hello again Lovely Readers!

I’ve decided to start another new initiative on the ol’ blog here, and today is the day I share it with you all!  This particular initiative will be tagged “Where I Read” (a handy way for you to find these specific blog entries, if you’re most interested in them) and, you guessed it, I will be featuring a locale where I choose to do some of my precious reading in each of the posts with this tag.  I thought, as with the #JNGReads and #JNGListens posts, these entries will give you an insight into my reading routine and the places I visit on a regular basis and brainstorm about this very blog.

So, without further delay, my first location spotlight is on a nice little spot I’ve found to read during my lunch breaks at work.  I haven’t mentioned what exactly I do at work yet, so I’ll do a little bit of that now, just to establish a context – I’m a bilingual assistant at a non-profit organization.  Obviously, that means I could be doing a number of different tasks, and I do!  I actually have recently found myself taking on a bunch of new projects and helping various different departments, and that’s probably what I love most about my job…I really like getting my hands into everything and being able to learn the ins-and-outs of all aspects of the company.  I’ve also gotten a chance to learn how to do some event planning which is something I’ve always been interested in, but never thought I had the exact qualifications to do.  Basically, I’m acquiring a ton of different skills that I know are going to be so useful for my future career endeavours!

Having said that, one of the things I miss most when I’m at work are my beloved books.  I always hoped I would have a job where I would get to read books all day, and although some of my friends who are currently working in the publishing industry say it’s not all that glamorous, I do often find myself sitting at my desk and wishing I could just reach into my bag and finish that chapter I started during my morning commute.  That probably wouldn’t be my most professional decision though, so I restrain myself…but I do like to sneak off around lunch time, find a quiet place to myself, and read the hour away as often as I can.  And, in order to do just that, I decided to go on the lookout for a serene and peaceful reading location when I first started this job back in October…and that is exactly what I found just beside my work…a marvelous and woodsy little trail leading to a quaint garden with benches (see the photo below).

The Path Beside Work

Naturally, I can’t make it to this secluded spot every lunch hour, especially when the clouds are dark and ominous like they are today!  But on the days when I can make it to my special bench, I am fully engrossed in whatever book I happen to be reading at the time for that short, but precious hour.  It’s definitely one of the happiest, calmest times of my day!

Anyway, thanks for reading, as always…and remember to check back here regularly to find out where in this green world JNG is!

JNG

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

