Happy Blog Birthday! – Belated #JNGReads Post

Hello Dear Readers! Today is a very special day!

My #JNGReads post for this week is a little delayed (it is Monday, after all, and not Sunday when I usually write these posts), and that is for two reasons. 1) Yesterday I was ridiculously busy, as wedding season officially began. My boyfriend’s family and I attended his cousin’s wedding and it was so beautiful and exciting. I absolutely adore weddings (I mean, why wouldn’t I, since True Love is my favourite thing in the world?!) and I can’t wait to attend a second wedding this upcoming weekend for one of my dearest friends. So, naturally, I was busy getting ready, congratulating the happy couple and dancing into the wee hours of the morning…and thus I unfortunately didn’t have enough time to write this post.

2) I actually wanted to wait until today to write this post because…drum roll please…today is the BIRTHDAY of The World of my Green Heart!!! *fireworks* It was a year ago today that I made my first post live, that I debuted my green heart to the world, and I have had the best year writing on this little piece of the internet that is all my own! I am truly ridiculously proud of this blog…some people might not think it’s very much, but I’ve loved creating every aspect of it, and I am so happy to have the chance to talk to so many of you! A BIG BIRTHDAY-INSPIRED THANK YOU to all those who have chosen to follow me – it means the absolute world to me, and I admit, I do check my number of followers every single day and I have made note of each and every one of you!

Now, I’m relatively new to blogging so I don’t exactly know how to measure a blog’s success just yet, but it seems to me like I’ve had a very successful first year! Probably my greatest success is the fact that I have interacted with so many of my favourite authors…many of whom have retweeted and perhaps even read my entries! Some of the highlights include my interactions with Sophie Kinsella, Jojo Moyes and Ali Harris, those witty and hilarious women whose writing style I so look up to! It also touched me so deeply when Francisco Goldman thanked me for my post about his work of creative non-fiction, and it was extremely satisfying when authors whose works I read in my youth, like Adele Geras and April Lindner, interacted with The World of my Green Heart! You can follow me on Twitter to see all these interactions and to learn about any future interactions I may have, but here are some screenshots of my favourite moments of the year:

Sophie Kinsella retweeted my blog again!

Ali Harris retweeted my blog!

IMG_2241

I have big plans for this upcoming year…I’m thinking about several different things I can do to make this blog more my own, so I’m super excited for the future! Having said that, I’m interested in any and all input you readers may have – you’re the ones who take the time to visit my blog and read what I have to say, so I want to know what you all think I can do to improve this space…and I’d love to know what you’re enjoying about the blog so far! If you have any thoughts, leave them in the comments below! 🙂

And finally, before I forget, I guess I should get some #JNGReads quotes out to you…that is after all the secondary purpose of this post. It just so happens that two quotes I stumbled upon this week in Azar Nafisi’s Reading Lolita in Tehran perfectly portray the exact reason I started this blog in the first place. I believe (and I’ve said this so many times before) that literature has the power to change people, that words can shape a person’s life, sometimes even more than their real experiences. I believe that talking about literature is what makes humans wiser, more informed and better able to understand their fellow humans and themselves. And I hope that this modest blog is a space where we can all learn a little something about who we are and what we want to be.

“…the novels we escaped into led us finally to question and prod our own realities…”

“The best fiction always forced us to question what we took for granted.”

Reading Lolita in Tehran, Azar Nafisi

Happy Birthday to our journey here, together! Here’s to many more years just like this one! ❤

Janille N G

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

The World of my Green Heart

One thought on “Happy Blog Birthday! – Belated #JNGReads Post

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

