How to Dress Like Beetlejuice, Beetlejuice, Beetlejuice…in the Middle of Summer

Hello Everyone and welcome to this lovely, hot summer day in Toronto!

It’s so beautiful outside: the sun is shining and warm, the grass is greener than I’ve seen it in a long time, and the sky is a gorgeous shade of blue. Finally…summer is here in Canada!

But let’s get real, I’m a Gothic Victorian at heart, so I’m not exactly the biggest fan of summer. I’ve said this before and I’ll say it again here on the blog, winter is my favourite season and I would rather be all bundled up in a winter coat and a cute hat and scarf combo than boiling and sweating in the unrelenting humidity. Also, black is my favourite colour (Yes, I know it’s technically a shade people but I don’t care!), and obviously black is hard to wear in summer which is depressing. That doesn’t stop me though, and today’s post is actually dedicated to one of my favourite “darker” characters in pop culture, for lack of a better adjective.

Beetlejuice was the first character I ever grew significantly and deliriously attached to. I was a wee little thing, probably about 5 or 6 years old when I saw the original movie for the first time…and very quickly decided that I was in fact Lydia Deetz and not Janille N G at all. I even went so far as to write my name in all my childhood books as Lydia, and I demanded that my parents call me this. They were obliging enough and my mom made me a couple long black dresses to wear around the neighbourhood. I vaguely remember talking to Beetlejuice and being pretty convinced that he was real – I guess I just really liked the idea of an “imaginary” friend, a companion who would appear whenever you summoned him and keep you endless company (basically like a boyfriend, but available always and on command)!

As I grew older, I was forced to accept that Beetlejuice wasn’t real, much to my dismay and disappointment. What was most amazing was that I wasn’t scared of him at all, though…I mean, the movie isn’t exactly the sort of thing you’d let a 5 or 6 year old watch, but I thought it was hilarious (and the same goes for the cartoon that came out of it, which was a bit more child-friendly). I still don’t know what drew me to this grotesque, macabre story, but my current love for TV shows like Penny Dreadful and gothic novels like Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde and Le Fantôme de l’Opéra probably definitely comes from my initial interest in the supernatural and unexplainable.

Now, just because I had to admit that Beetlejuice wasn’t real in my older age, doesn’t mean that I had to give up on loving him. And I haven’t. I still have pictures of him in the slideshow on my computer, I still have a little figurine of him on my bookshelf (Thanks Dad for that one!) and I still watch the movie as often as possible, and always on Halloween. But, I like to take things a step further in my idolatry of fictitious characters, as you all know, so one day recently, I decided to dress in a Beetlejuice-inspired outfit at work. And what better day to share it with all of you than on the most beautiful summer day of the year so far! 😉

How to Dress Like Beetlejuice #1

The whole crux of the outfit is this shirt, which is actually my mom’s…don’t tell her but I stole it! Mwahaha! Anyway, the stripes are clearly very Beetlejuice-esque, vertical black and white stripes of course being his signature uniform. (Sidenote: If you haven’t seen the movie or haven’t heard of Beetlejuice…STOP EVERYTHING, and find a way to get to know him! ASAP! You won’t be disappointed because, if I’m honest, I really find Michael Keaton sexy in this role!)

How to Dress Like Beetlejuice #2

But the true Beetlejuice fan won’t just stop at a striped shirt. As soon as I saw these shoes, I knew I had to buy them and get a Beetlejuice fashion post together. Look at them – they’re perfect! They’ve got the same colour scheme, they match the shirt perfectly, and I think Beetlejuice himself would be very fond of the more loafer-like shape of them (because I’m pretty sure he wears something loafer-like himself). And of course, the rest of the outfit had to be all black, from the dress pants to the sweater, because the darker the better when trying to look like a supernatural entity.

So there we are: another fashion-inspired post, not about a literary character necessarily, but certainly about one of my fictional heroes and best friends!

I hope you all enjoyed!

JNG

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

2 thoughts on “How to Dress Like Beetlejuice, Beetlejuice, Beetlejuice…in the Middle of Summer

  1. Pingback: In Your Dreams | The World of my Green Heart

  2. Pingback: Hello October…And Where I Read When It’s Warm | The World of my Green Heart

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

