Where I Usually Read

Hello again Dear Readers!

This is my third post in almost as many days, and today there is a special reason for that. I wanted to let you all know that for the next week I won’t be posting any #JNGReads or #JNGListens quotes. I have good reason for this week off, though: my boyfriend and I are spending this entire week together and doing a “staycation”! We have a hotel booked in downtown Toronto and a list of places we want to visit, and I am so excited to get to know my city a bit better! I don’t think I’ll have much time for reading or listening to music, what with all the exploring, but I thought I should inform you all of the reason for my absence. I do have a couple of posts planned for the rest of the summer, so stay tuned for that – and for those of you who haven’t joined me on Twitter and Instagram, now would be a great time to catch up on the #JNGReads/#JNGListens quotes I’ve been posting there for the last little while, if you feel so inclined! 🙂

Anyway, enough about me and my plans…let’s get to the point of today’s post. I’ve already written a couple of entries talking about some of my favourite reading locations, and today I have another one to share with you.

Obviously, the place where I do most of my reading and writing is in my bedroom. I’ve had this bedroom since I was like 3 or 4 years old, when my family moved into this house. It’s been decorated in a variety of different styles over the years, and it was actually a dark green at one point, which is a real coincidence that I never thought of until this moment! In recent years, since I entered high school and then began university, my room has been a calming off white colour with soothing blue and green accents. Not that this particular décor helped eliminate my stress when I was at school, but it looks pretty, so whatever!

I’ve also accumulated a ridiculous amount of stuff to put into my room, much to my mother’s dismay, and I have paraphernalia from my trips to Italy, France and England, as well as gifts from my boyfriend on display and pictures of my family and friends. I also recently dug up an old chandelier from our basement and my mom put it up, so I now truly feel like a reference to one of my favourite stories, The Phantom of the Opera, is always hanging over my head.

My Chandelier

I think that my room feels truly lived in, but I like to keep it clean and organized. Probably my favourite part of my room is my quote wall…I’ve posted a photo of it before, but here it is again, as there have been some additions:

My Book Tribute Wall

I have three quotes written on the wall, in English and French, as well as a Jane Eyre postcard from Charlotte Brontë’s home in Haworth, a collage of photos of my boyfriend and me and the Girl with a Green Heart “art piece” that my dad made for me over Christmas. Just below it is my side table with two of my older, more rustic copies of Jane Eyre and several other books that I think are pretty. I also have two mugs on this table that one of my best friends made for me a few Christmases ago…she actually decorated the mugs by drawing portraits of Jane Eyre and Mr. Rochester on them and by copying out quotes from Charlotte’s novel. They’re truly unique and I absolutely adore them!

So basically, if you’re ever trying to envision me writing my posts or reading the books that I love talking about, I’m probably doing it here on my childhood bed:

My Bed

I know I can’t stay in this room forever, and my little staycation with my boyfriend this week is a reminder of that. At some point, I will probably have to move out and make a whole new bedroom for myself. But I know (mainly because my parents are so spectacular and loving) that this bedroom will always be here for me, and that I can always return with my book and my journal at any time and the door will be wide open!

Have a nice week everyone and see you when I return! ❤

JNG

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

