Straws – #JNGReads/#JNGListens

Well, I’m posting this quote entry early again because I have another busy weekend planned (SS and I are having an early year and a half anniversary celebration!)…and because, this week, I’m grasping at straws.

If you’ve been following me on Twitter, you’ll see that I’ve still been diligently posting #JNGReads and #JNGListens posts every day for the past week. But, this week unlike most other weeks, I haven’t been at all passionate or excited about the quotes I’m posting. I also have no idea what quote I’m going to post tomorrow because nothing has jumped out at me yet. Usually I have an idea toward the beginning of the week of the theme the posts are going to take; usually I have a handful of inspiring, breathtakingly beautiful quotes to choose from. But this week…nope! I struggled to figure out what words were worthy of being featured.

Let’s go through the week and I’ll give you my logic for each of the quotes I posted and the reason I’m dissatisfied with my selections:

Monday – I posted a quote from a song by The Beatles, Eight Days a Week. Now, I basically think The Beatles were and are gods on Earth (yes, even Ringo and George)! But, let’s get real, this isn’t my favourite song of all time…and I basically just posted the quote because it happened to be stuck in my head that morning and I think it’s cute. Could I actually pick a favourite song by The Beatles? Well, no, they have too big and great a catalogue…but I have narrowed it down in recent years to three frontrunners: Something, Can’t Buy Me Love and We Can Work It Out. Eight Days a Week is catchy, but it’s not a song I’m like dying to listen to every day. So yeah, this was a random choice to say the least. (And let’s just be thankful that there aren’t actually eight days in a week because then I’d be struggling to find a quote to post for an extra day this week!)

Tuesday – I posted a quote from the novel I’m currently reading Re Jane by Patricia Park. It’s an okay novel based on an AMAZING story (Jane Eyre, obviously)…but it’s not going to be one of my favourite adaptations of Charlotte’s novel, I can say that for sure. I have less than 100 pages left (look for a review coming very soon!), and there are some subtle details that I’ve been enjoying, such as the fact that Park chooses names for people and buildings that call back to Charlotte’s original (my favourite example: Jane Re’s biological father’s name is Currer Bell which was the pen name Charlotte used when she first published JE), but I feel that Park is (also) grasping at straws with aspects of this reworking. I won’t go into too much detail, but right now, this novel is just okay for me. The quote I picked from the novel is really sweet though, so I stand by it as a pretty good choice.

“I had the gait of a woman who loved – and was loved back.”

Re Jane, Patricia Park

Wednesday – I posted a quote from Azar Nafisi’s Reading Lolita in Tehran. Obviously at one point I felt passionate enough about the quote to write it down, but I finished the book awhile ago, so basically I posted this quote because I hadn’t had a chance to and I thought it was really relevant to my focus on imagination here on the blog.

Thursday – I posted part 1 of a quote from the song Sound of Your Heart by Shawn Hook…

Friday (today) – …and today I posted part 2 of the quote. The song is catchy and the sentiment behind it is street, but has this song made it onto my iPod yet? If I’m honest, no it has not. It’s not a favourite for me, but I’ve heard it about a gazillion times at the gym over the past week so I thought, Hey, why not use it for a Twitter post?! Lame, I know.

Saturday (tomorrow) – Who even knows what I’ll find to post tomorrow! I sure don’t!

So basically, this week’s blog entry is a little ridiculous and I apologize for that. I do have a plan though to up my game over the next few weeks! And I think it is a good plan, one you’ll all hopefully like! I’ve decided to go back into the archives of my reading past…and perhaps pull a book that I’ve already read from my shelf (as I did with Jane Eyre previously), give it a reread and go through why I love it so much with specific, detailed posts. Basically, I’ve been missing a certain dear old friend for a few months now…here’s a hint, he’s a troubled and dislocated but handsome and loving librarian. (Any ideas what book I’m going to choose based on this clue? Comment below!) And the great thing about books is that they can be revisited at any time – and relived.

So that’s what I’m going to do, once I finish Re Jane…I’m going to take a walk down my reading memory lane, and I promise I will have some VERY passionate posts for you in the near future!

Thanks for sticking with me through it all!

With much appreciation,

JNG

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

