What You Should Absolutely, Never Ever Do…

…is lend a book to someone.

This may seem selfish, but I am pretty strongly against lending my books to anyone. I’ve only done it a few times in my life, and the most recent time put me off the whole idea entirely. I’ll explain…

It was the summer after high school, and one of my good friends at the time asked me to borrow a book I had just finished reading, raved about and totally adored. She seemed trustworthy enough and respectful of books and the written word in general, so I lent her the book, no problem. She had it for a few weeks, and in that time, coincidentally, we got into a major fight that ended our friendship. I’ve since had time to get over all that (some people just grow apart, especially when they’re teenagers…these things happen), but what I distinctly remember is the fear that I had lost my new favourite book forever! I panicked! I imagined it lying in her room, neglected and unloved. I considered buying a new copy, but mourned the loss of my original companion. I even thought of various ways to get the book back from her: I considered starting a conversation and maybe “apologizing” (since I’m sure that’s what she wanted), just to return the book to my own possession!

Luckily for me, about a week after our quarrel, I returned home from grocery shopping to find the book sitting on my front porch (a dangerous, vulnerable spot for it, I know, but still relatively safe all things considered) with a simple note saying “Thanks”. I was so so relieved to have it back!

Ironically enough, that book that I lent my former friend was…The Time Traveler’s Wife.  I don’t know that I would’ve had the chance or the idea to read it over and over again if my friend had never given it back!

So, all I can say is that the whole situation was a near miss, and I haven’t wanted to put myself or my beloved books in that place again! Now fast forward to last night, when my boyfriend told me he’s decided to lend a book I bought him on martial arts to a colleague. All I can think is MISTAKE! I’ve tried to convince him not to do it, but he won’t listen…in my mind, that book’s already lost to him anyway!

Call me selfish or whatever… But if you ask me, it’s only okay to be friendly and accommodating when it comes to anything other than books!

Author of Controversial Opinions,

JNG

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

