Hello October…And Where I Read When It’s Warm

Finally!

Fall weather is officially here in Toronto, and with it my absolute favourite season. I can say with confidence that I love no time of year more than the stretch from October 1st to January 1st, a time that incorporates the change of the leaves and foliage to a rustic, gorgeous orange (my actual favourite colour, believe it or not), as well as several holidays that I get so excited for every year! For example, Halloween – I fancy myself a bit of a lover of all things Gothic (as you can probably tell from how often I’ve raved about Penny Dreadful and Beetlejuice here on the blog), and now that I’m in a relationship, a whole host of couple costumes are available to me and my darling SS. We’re not really into clichés, and so this year we’ve decided to dress up as a famous horror movie “couple” – but there will be a blog post coming about this once October 31st has passed, complete with TONS of pictures!

My birthday also falls within this gorgeous Fall/Winter stretch, and I’m already planning a girly brunch/early afternoon tea with my three best friends. Again, all the details will be on the blog about this event inspired by my favourite Victorian heroines and their love of cozy afternoons full of scones and tarts and finger sandwiches.

And finally, we’re moving slowly but surely toward Christmas and New Year’s, my absolute favourite holidays! I’m already anxious to get my Christmas tree up, to fill my room and house with my favourite flowers, poinsettias. Everything is gold and shining and sparkling at this time of year, and I can’t wait to listen to my beloved Christmas carols and take strolls around the Christmas markets in the city, with my bouncy toque and my warm mittens!

Okay, so I AM TOTALLY LOOKING FORWARD TO SO MANY THINGS RIGHT NOW! And, before any of this, before the leaves change and the lights turn on every night, I will be heading on another adventure, this time with my parents and “little” (read, 20 year old) brother…to Disney World Resort!!! We leave a week from today (and, naturally, there will be a blog post about this next week sometime), and we are going to spend some time in the actual resort in Florida with Mickey and Minnie…and more excitingly, Belle and Ariel and their princes! I am happier than I can say about all of this because I’ve wanted to go to Disney World since I was a child. Finally, finally, it’s time, and this is definitely the exact trip that my family needs, to relax and bond and just laugh together!

Fall/Winter is where it’s at people! I’m not a summer person by any means, and this Fall/Winter is just too amazing to be depressed about the end of the summer! As far as I’m concerned, summer had its day and it’s time for it to move on!

Having said that, I figured now is a good time to mention one more reading location that I often inhabit, specifically when it’s a bit warmer outside and my clothes are less cumbersome. A few years ago, a Starbucks opened across the street from my house (literally, I can almost see it from my window), and I started going there quite frequently from the start. At the time, I was in the midst of my university degrees, and I often just needed to get out of the house and do my reading in a different environment. It’s not that my house distracted me whatsoever – it’s that I would start to feel claustrophobic and stifled in my house after hours and hours with my lengthy Victorian novels, and a change of space and locale was just what I needed to get reinvigorated and excited! I’d sit down with my yogurt or juice and watch the people come in and out after every couple pages or so. Now that I have this blog, I sometimes head back to Starbucks to write my posts, and recently I thought that I should maybe take a cheeky picture to show you all another location where I read.

Starbucks Whitby

Have an amazing Saturday everyone! We’ll talk tomorrow…there’s another #JNGReads post on its way, as always!

JNG

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

3 thoughts on “Hello October…And Where I Read When It’s Warm

  1. Don’t you celebrate Thanksgiving in October? We do it in November here in the US. It has been raining a lot here lately so I am hoping that will cool temperatures down to fall like weather instead of it feeling like Summer is hanging on.

    • Yes, we do celebrate Thanksgiving in October here! I forgot to mention it because I’ll actually be in Disney World over that weekend! Where exactly do you live in the US? I’m hoping the weather in Florida will be nice once we head over next week…do you have any insight on this at all? 🙂

      • I am in Chattanooga, TN and we are having some very wet weather here. It has rained for a few days here but hopefully by later in the month it will be cooler and drier.

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

