In Your Dreams

*We interrupt our regularly scheduled #JNGReads/JNGListens programming to bring you a special blog post…

The Girl with a Green Heart Does Halloween 2015!

As you all know well enough by now, I’m a big fan of romance, grace, and pretty and delicate things like flowers and old books and the smell of rare book libraries. But what you’re probably only starting to figure out (because of blog posts about Penny Dreadful and Beetlejuice, among others) is that I am also obsessed with horror movies, with all the creepy crawly things that go bump in the night. I love a good horror flick that will keep me on the edge of my seat, that will make me scream at the main character to not go into that dark, abandoned house or to not hide in that putrid basement. I don’t get enough suspense in my real-life, so I’m always on board to watch a gruesome film whenever possible.

But having said that, I wasn’t always a huge fan of Halloween. Sure, I dressed up as Lydia Deetz as a kid and went out Trick or Treating for hours, but in my adult life, I didn’t go to many costume parties and I stopped dressing up for a few years. I just didn’t have a reason to!

That is until I met SS and a whole array of couple costumes became available to me! SS is so into dressing up and he’s the type of boyfriend who isn’t embarrassed by anything and who’s willing to dress up as whatever I want…because he’s amazing! So this year I decided that we needed to dress up as characters from a popular book or film series (Hello blog post potential!)…the trouble was WHO?!

SS originally came up with the idea of going as Beauty and the Beast, and I liked that idea a lot…but it just seemed a little too cute to me! I wanted something edgy and unexpected and unique! And then, we were walking around the Eaton Centre and the perfect dress appeared out of nowhere and I knew…

Freddy

SS and I decided to go as the greatest horror movie couple of all time – Freddy Krueger and Jason Voorhees! The Freddy vs. Jason movie has been a favourite of mine since I was a kid, and this just seemed like the most unexpected costume ever! I was so excited…and I think we pulled it off quite nicely!

Freddy vs. Jason

What do you all think? Do we look terrifying enough to inspire nightmares? (Haha, keep in mind, I did still want to be a little bit cute!)

Anyway, to keep with the #JNGReads/JNGListens tradition, here’s a quote for my up-for-anything-and-everything boyfriend who made my weekend fantastic and frightful! πŸ˜‰

β€œI love you, always. Time is nothing.” – The Time Traveler’s Wife, Audrey Niffenegger

See you in your dreams!

JNG

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

