Be Our Guest – Beauty and the Beast Teaser Trailer – A Review

What can you say about something that’s a minute and a half long?

A lot, apparently. Just this morning, Disney released the official teaser trailer for the long-awaited live action remake of Beauty and the Beast. I think it goes without saying that Beauty and the Beast is my all-time favourite Disney movie, and in fact, is one of my favourite movies of all time. That much was probably obvious to you all when I talked about my incredible, much overdue family trip to Disney World in Florida this past October. Basically, I’m obsessed with Beauty and the Beast; a small trip around my room is indication enough, what with all the paraphernalia, including multiple copies of the movie, a DVD/Blu-Ray combo pack of the Christmas special and several dolls representing all of my favourite characters.

Okay, so I love Beauty and the Beast…but I have to admit, I did not love the idea of this classic, award winning film from my childhood (it was released in 1991, coincidentally – or perhaps it’s Fate? – also the year I was born) being made into a live action film. More than anything, I was concerned about casting – never mind who they would select to portray the Beast and Gaston, those two totally different male leads – I was concerned that no actress in Hollywood today could accurately encompass every much loved aspect of Belle’s character.

Well, Disney selected Emma Watson to take on the feat, and I have to say, I wasn’t thrilled. I don’t dislike Emma Watson, but I’m not a Harry Potter fan by any means, so I’ve never seen her act in anything really. I know she’s incredibly smart and very respected, but I just wasn’t ready to let her be Belle in my mind. A lot of this is down to jealousy, I must admit – ever since I was an enfant, I’ve been convinced that I am in fact Belle, and it just didn’t sit well with me that some other young woman was getting the chance to play the role I was made for. I wanted to love Emma Watson, but I just couldn’t.

I guess that is until today… I have to say, I’ve watched the new teaser trailer for the movie about six times since this morning. (I even made my brother sit down to watch it, which I don’t think he was thrilled about.) It really is an incredibly beautiful trailer. The scenery (which I never had any concerns about – let’s be real, Disney has the budget to make any set look incredible) is breathtaking and perfect. The castle looks just as it should and is 100% faithful to the original. In the trailer, the castle goes from looking marvelous and decadent to becoming decayed and gray (in accordance with the Beast’s change), and it is truly obvious that a lot of effort was put into making a set that is opulent and gothic, magnificent and terrifying.

Another lovely aspect of the trailer is the fact that Cogsworth and Lumière are heard discussing “the girl” who has arrived at the castle. This conversation brought me straight back to that moment in the cartoon when the two bumbling best friends are excited and enthralled by Belle’s entrance, and are hopeful that she will break the spell that plagues the castle and all its inhabitants. The inclusion of this short dialogue reassured me that the producers are sticking to the heart and soul of the original.

And finally, Emma Watson, in all her glory as future princess Belle, is featured very briefly at the end of the trailer as she lays her delicate hand on a single red rose. Okay, I wanted to be angry and I wanted to hate her…but…I just couldn’t! She looks so sweet and innocent and kind, just exactly what Belle should be, but she also has a force and strength about her that is also so integral to the character. In that little moment of seeing her, I felt confident that she could master the role and bring something to Belle that will make her even more of a hero for the next generation. I felt instantly better about the whole live action idea, and I’m super eager to see the full trailer whenever it is released.

Anyway, I thought I would just share these observations with you because I’ve promised myself that I will always rant and rave about the stories I love on this blog without restraint.

Let me know what you think in the comments below if you watch the trailer yourselves!

JNG

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

