Pipe Dreams

“And so it came about that Eliza’s luck held, and the expected opposition to the flower shop melted away. The shop is in the arcade of a railway station not very far from the Victoria and Albert Museum; and if you live in that neighborhood you may go there any day and buy a buttonhole from Eliza.”

Pygmalion, George Bernard Shaw

My Dream Home (Victoria College)

If only I had Eliza Doolittle’s luck.

I don’t think there’s a person on this planet who hasn’t considered what they would do if they won the lottery. Sure, people probably consider different amounts and try to determine how much they would require to quit their jobs and be comfortable for the rest of their lives, and these values certainly vary from person to person. Then they decide what they would do with this money…Would they travel the world, see the greatest sites in every continent? Would they buy a home by the ocean, in a forest, in a famous city? Would they donate a large sum of it to charities, hospitals, people in need? Or would they live just as they do now, all the while knowing that they will never have to worry about providing for their loved ones?

I know exactly what I would do with my lottery winnings, and I have known for many years. At one point, I thought that, if I had all the money in the world, I would immediately apply for and pursue my PhD. I would be on a plane to Oxford tomorrow, copies of Jane Eyre and North and South packed in my suitcase, wearing a cozy cardigan. After meeting SS, my goals changed slightly, and I realized that I didn’t really want to do my PhD, not because I didn’t have the money readily available for it but because I didn’t have the time to devote to it. I believed, and still do, that my time could be better spent nurturing an incredible relationship and building a humble but secure family life. When I thought about winning the lottery with SS, I knew that the first thing I would want to do was get married immediately; obviously, we’re in the midst of planning our wedding, so we can afford this exciting party anyway, but I knew that if we won the lottery, we could travel to Paris and get married beside the Eiffel Tower, or we could have our reception in a secluded and gothic English castle. And we could take our honeymoon in Japan, like SS has always dreamed of. We could have a wedding with the character we’re trying to recreate here in Toronto with a bit more ease and immediacy. And we could start our married life, the life I now know I want more than any other, that much sooner.

Now that we are in the process of planning our wedding, though, I know that if I won the lottery tomorrow, I wouldn’t change a thing about the wedding we’re having. I firmly believe that it is going to be perfect, exactly what both SS and I have always envisioned, so I wouldn’t spend any more or less money on it. It is going to be exquisite just as we have it planned.

So, my priorities for my lottery money have changed again…

If you follow me on Instagram, you’ll already know what I would do if I won the lottery tomorrow. I would set myself, and SS, up in a home right across the street from Victoria College at the University of Toronto. It would be the exact home featured in the photo above, a home just like the one Henry Higgins lives in in My Fair Lady (check out the scene I linked on my Twitter page yesterday to get a sense of the type of home I’m talking about). I have a bit of a love affair with doors, and this home would have a solid black one, with three small steps leading up to it and a black gate in front. Flowers and small shrubs would surround the porch, and the entrance would lead right onto the sidewalk, right into the heart of downtown and close to the beautiful campus I spent so much time at and grew to love so dearly. We would entertain our dearest friends here, having dinner parties at Christmas, the outside of our lovely home covered in wreaths and poinsettias and sparkling lights. I would invite my best friend CV over for tea and we would curl up in luscious armchairs by the window with our favourite novels. I would walk to work every morning, all the while knowing that my dream home was waiting for me upon my return. And I would continue to work, not in an office, not on a tight schedule, but somewhere pleasant and warm and inviting, just for the fun of it. I would find the nearest flower shop, one similar to the gorgeous shop in my hometown of Whitby (which is actually hiring a part-time sales associate at the moment…tempting!), and work there basically for free since I don’t need the money anyway. I would just want to wear pretty dresses every day, and fresh blooms in my hair. I would want to brighten people’s days by offering them a free flower every now and then (paid for with my newfound fortune, naturally), and strike up conversations with my favourite customers. I would live a relaxed, stress free life, but one that would also leave my children amply provided for.

Oh, what a dream! Not dissimilar to Eliza Doolittle’s in Pygmalion: a simple life, replete with the comforts of a loving home and work that is truly enjoyable and fulfilling. It’s the best life I can possibly think of, not too extravagant, just right for me.

Probably I should start buying lottery tickets if I actually want to have a shot at this life! 😉

What would you do if you won the lottery tomorrow? Let me know below; I’d love to hear!

JNG

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

One thought on “Pipe Dreams

  1. Pingback: New Home | The World of my Green Heart

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

