Chapter 25

~ This is a strange world we live in. And, this is a strange time for me personally. ~

Today is my birthday…and I am very happy and excited about it.

I’m big on birthdays. While I used to be anxious and depressed on November 11th each year, the thought of getting older terrifying me, I have now come to embrace my age (although I haven’t quite gotten used to the few gray hairs that seem to come with it). Perhaps this settled feeling comes from finally being in a place in my life (well, okay, my romantic life more than anything) that makes me calm and proud. In any case, I’m 25 years old today, as close to my thirties as I am to the days of twenties past, and I am totally okay with it.

I tend to imbue birthdays with the significance that the New Year holds for most people. Rather than making resolutions on January 1st of each year, I try to infuse November 11th with a quality of renewal and becoming. I set goals for myself that I’d like to achieve before my next birthday, and I try to envision what I would like to have accomplished before the next year. I usually attain these goals, since I like to keep them moderate and realistic, and this year, I’ve set my sights on becoming more fulfilled professionally. Everything else I’ve ever hoped for is coming together for me, at this ripe old age of 25, and with a wedding in my future, I feel like the one thing I should start to focus on and put more life into is my budding career. So, that is my call to action for this year.

But, like I said, this is a strange time in our world and not everything is always sunshine and roses. On my birthday, I can feel optimistic, but every day is not like this, especially with how tumultuous our society has become. For that reason, I’d like to take this opportunity, on my 25th birthday, to offer you all, my dear Readers, a gift. I’ve compiled a list of a few things that are making me smile today, not just because it is my special day but because these things are wonderful. And they will continue to be wonderful, day in and day out, regardless of what the world has come to. I hope these things will make you smile too.

Things that are making me smile today…

1) Flowers…

…like the ones below, featured at the florist shop that SS and I have selected to provide the blooms and décor for our wedding. I’ve spoken before about how, in another life (one where I actually have artistic talents), I would’ve loved to be a florist. Well, Mint Floral Co. in downtown Whitby is one of the prettiest flower shops I’ve ever come across, and I am overjoyed that I’ll be working with them during my wedding. The little flower market I took this picture of just brightened my whole day when I saw it. There is nothing that flowers can’t fix, is there?

mint-floral-co

2) Fall colours…

…like these ones, which appeared outside SS’s house this weekend. Fall doesn’t last long here in Canada. It is fleeting and momentary. All the more reason to value it, to make the most of it, to soak in the beautiful scenery while it lasts. Make every moment of Fall count!

fall-colours

3) Achievements…

…like SS’s recent one, graduating from the University of Toronto last Monday. I couldn’t be prouder of my smart, dedicated and ambitious man for receiving his degree. The ceremony on Monday also reminded me of all I have accomplished. It brought to the forefront of my mind the fact that I have a Master’s degree, that I spent years studying the things I truly adore, literature and language. I would like to use my degree a bit more than I am now, but I am also reminded of the fact that every time I write a post on this humble blog for all of you, I am honouring the degree I achieved and fueling my passions. I also hope that I’ll be able to get back to creative writing this year, and maybe present some new pieces to all of you.

ss-graduates

4) People…

…like those that surround me on this day and have made my life into something spectacular. The world isn’t always a kind place, and I’ve had my fair share of imperfect relationships, but I finally feel as though I am surrounded by people who lift me up, rather than dragging me down. I am positively smitten with my incredible fiancé, my constant and loyal family, and my beautiful (inside and out) girlfriends. When things get scary, I remind myself that there is love all around me, of the truest variety. And with that in my green heart, how can I ever go wrong?

gifts-from-cfib-coworkers

I truly hope this year will be an amazing one, not just for me, but for all of us. If we can all find just a few reasons to smile every day, I have no doubt that it will be!

Janille N G

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

3 thoughts on “Chapter 25

  1. Pingback: Eat Like a Queen | The World of my Green Heart

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

