Eat Like a Queen

Hello Dear Readers,

Today’s note is going to be a quick one because I have a busy weekend ahead of me, but I promise that I will be coming back early next week with another book review.

This post is going to be a fun one…

As you all know if you read my last post, last week was my birthday. I turned 25 years old, a number that I’ve embraced rather than been terrified of! I spent an amazing day with my family and SS, and then I was able to meet up with my dearest girlfriends, my maidens, on Saturday night. It was an incredible weekend!

And, one of the most incredible parts of it was the lovely cake that my brother and Man of Honour, BBG, made for me. BBG has recently gotten into cooking and baking, and when I saw the Halloween cake he made for a friend’s party a few weeks ago, I jokingly asked if he could make me a Queen Victoria cake for my birthday. I wasn’t sure if he would do it, so imagine my surprise when I found out that he had spent time researching Queen Victoria cakes and had found a recipe for an authentic cake named after my favourite monarch, served in England. I had no idea a cake like this even existed! BBG recreated this exact type of cake for me, and it was absolutely DELICIOUS! He put in all the royal touches, right down to the homemade jam in between the two layers of vanilla cake, and the regal crown stencil on top, which he handmade. I thought I should share the recipe with all of you, in case you’re a fan of the Victorian era too and would like to take a stab at making the Queen Victoria cake…

BBG’s Queen Victoria Cake

brandons-queen-victoria-cake

Vanilla Cake

– 1 cup unsalted butter (room temperature)

– 3 cups all-purpose flour

– 1 tbsp baking powder

– ½ tsp salt

– 4 large eggs (room temperature)

– 1 tbsp vanilla extract – can be adjusted to taste

– 1 cup milk (whole or 2%)

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Spray and flour 2 cake pans.

2) In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking powder and salt.

3) In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in eggs, one at a time. Beat in vanilla.

4) Add flour mixture and milk to wet ingredients in thirds, alternating.

5) Divide batter into the 2 prepared pans.

6) Bake for 25 minutes. Let cool.

Strawberry Sauce

(To be placed in the middle of the two vanilla cakes, with cream cheese icing as well.)

– 5 tbsp sugar

– 1 to 2 cups fresh strawberries

– 1 lemon (juice and zest)

– ½ tbsp balsamic vinegar

– 1 tbsp cornstarch (plus some water)

Note: BBG made the strawberry sauce (which was really more like a jam) and added it to basic cream cheese icing. He can’t give exact instructions about how he made this sauce; apparently he did it on the stove top, but he did it all to taste/until he thought it was a sauce/jam consistency, so I don’t have any specific instructions for this part. Once you have the sauce made to your liking, though, add a layer of cream cheese icing in between the 2 vanilla cakes, then add a layer of strawberry sauce on top of that. It’s sort of like a vanilla cake and jam sandwich. You can also use store-bought jam and cream cheese icing, depending on what you prefer and your skills. As for the stencil on top, BBG cut it out himself and sprinkled icing sugar on top of the cake around the stencil so that the crown would appear. It looked pretty impressive, don’t you think?!

Bon appetit!

JNG

Girl with a Green Heart

my green heart

3 thoughts on “Eat Like a Queen

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

