The JNG Christmas Tree Series 2.0

Merry almost Christmas, dear Readers!

It is amazing to me that Christmas is only two days away!

As you all know, this is a very special time of year for me. I adore Christmas, the joy and love that is ever-present at this time of year, and this holiday season is made all the more special by the fact that I am engaged. This is my first Christmas as a fiancée…and allow me to let you all in on a little secret…it is also my last.

If you follow me over on Instagram, you’ll have noticed that I’ve continued the tradition I began last year and been posting photos of Christmas trees and decorations that I’ve seen around my city. If you saw my post from yesterday, you’ll also know that I revealed my wedding date, and I think it’s about time I formally mentioned the date here on the blog. SS and I have decided to be married on December 22, 2017…which means that yesterday marked exactly one year until our wedding!!! The countdown is officially on!!! Naturally, we chose December 22nd because of how fond we both are of the Christmas season. I have dreamt of having a Christmas wedding since I was in high school, and December 22nd seemed like the most reasonable date since it is not literally on Christmas but is quite close enough. I am thrilled that all my hopes and dreams worked out, and I’m well into planning a wedding that will be Christmas themed with Victorian influences. SS has been so sweet to let me have every tiny detail I’ve always wanted, and I am so excited to share more of these plans with all of you as the year progresses. Just think, by this time next year, I’ll be a wife!!!

edward-the-emeralds-first-christmas

Anyway, I’ll put a pause on the wedding chatter for now and focus on the matter at hand: letting you all see the wonderful Christmas decorations I’ve encountered around Toronto during the 2016 holiday season.

The Christmas season officially began for me quite awhile ago, when I visited the Toronto Distillery District Christmas Market for the first time this year with my best friend CL. This was back when there was still over a month left until Christmas – how time flies!

distillery-district-christmas-market-november-19-2016

On that same day, CL also took a picture of her adorable little tree for me, which fits snuggly in the corner of her apartment and adds some lovely warmth to the room.

courtneys-christmas-tree

After this trip to the Christmas Market, I was fully on the lookout for any and all Christmas decorations that I could share on my blog. The next piece of Christmas décor I came across was at my very own office, the Christmas tree that my colleague JZ and I were asked to decorate by our manager. I mean, this is not a task I was about to say No to, and JZ and I had a great time putting together some mismatched ornaments to create a masterpiece.

with-jennifer-for-a-cfib-christmas

The next Christmas tree I came across was the magnificent one put up in the Toronto Eaton Centre. I think this is the best mall Christmas tree I’ve ever seen, and it literally glows throughout the entire shopping centre.

eaton-centre-christmas-tree-2016

In various walks around the city, I encountered even more larger than life trees, like the one outdoors at the University of Toronto, designed by Nordstrom, and one in a local department store.

nordstrom-christmas-tree at-fairview-mall

Finally, the food court and transit centre near my work put up their Christmas decorations, and I simply had to take a snap of the giant wreath they put up on the building’s massive glass window. I happened to be in this area at night, and the wreath looked spectacular and bright up against the dark sky.

wreath-at-york-mills-centre

Last but not least, it’s time to share a photo of my favourite Christmas tree of 2016. I encountered this gorgeous thing in Union Station on a night when I was in Toronto to celebrate my birthday. It is absolutely beautiful, and makes use of all the Christmas colours I love (and which will feature prominently in my wedding décor!). As soon as I saw this tree, I knew it was a frontrunner for Nicest Tree of 2016, and I don’t think I’ve seen one that tops it this year. Of course, there is still time, so if any of you have pictures of your gorgeous Christmas trees that you’d like to share, feel free to send me or tweet me or tag me in a picture! I’d love to see more festive decorations before the season comes to a close!

union-station-christmas-tree

❥ Merry Christmas, Happy Holidays and a very joyous and prosperous New Year to all of you! ❥

Janille N G

Girl with a Green (and Red) Heart

my green heart

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

