High Lady

“Night Triumphant – and the Stars Eternal.”

~ A Court of Wings and Ruin

Sometimes you get so obsessed with a book that it starts to slowly take over aspects of your entire life.

Welcome to my world. These obsessions with fictional realms and characters are something I have experienced since I was a child. Whether it was The Phantom’s lair or Jane Eyre’s career or Clare Abshire’s time travelling husband that I was lusting after, I have become enamoured with literary worlds and figures periodically throughout my entire life as a reader. And, I wouldn’t have it any other way. I’ve said it before and I’ll say it again: I spend most of my life in the world of my imagination, of my green heart, and it is there that I feel happiest, most comfortable and at peace.

So, add to the list of dear friends living within the world of my imagination the High Lord and Lady of the Night Court, Feyre and Rhysand. I gushed several times here on the blog about my enjoyment of the A Court of Thorns and Roses series by Sarah J. Maas (you can read my reviews of the novels here and here), but what I didn’t admit to was the fact that I haven’t been able to shake scenes from the three novels from my mind ever since completing them. I might be sitting at work and this vivid image of Feyre and Rhysand standing strong and united in battle will come to my mind. Or, I’ll be feeling anxious and scared out of my wits for whatever reason and Rhysand’s words to Feyre will come rushing toward me: “‘You do not fear. You do not falter.’” I never expected for two characters from a high fantasy series to touch me so profoundly, and yet they did, so much so that I have decided to surround myself with them physically as well, collecting trinkets for my new home that will remind me of the strength and confidence my new literary friends exhibit.

I’m so obsessed with Feyre and Rhysand, that impressive couple that will forever inspire me, that I went in search of Night Court paraphernalia – and wow, was I ever pleasantly surprised by the multitude of items out there for fans of Feyre and Rhysand just like me. I first came across the candles made by Wick and Fable through Instagram, and when I saw the Feyre candle, I knew I had to have it! It is absolutely gorgeous, a soft and muted pink that smells gentle and intoxicating, surrounded by a label proclaiming Feyre’s name amidst precious roses and displaying one of her strongest quotes from the series…

“I was a survivor, and I was strong. I would not be weak, or helpless again.”

But if I was going to proclaim my appreciation and idolization of Feyre’s character for all to see, then I had to have a token of my love for Rhysand around too, right? That sent me in search of this subtle and delicate decal for my Macbook. It so beautifully portrays the mountains and stars that Rhysand has tattooed on his knees, his reminder of his home and his family and the land that he must always protect and remain loyal to. I found the durable and striking decal from the shop Blissfully Bookish on Etsy, and I was so excited to slap it on my laptop.

I wear my green heart on my sleeve, which means wearing my adoration for my fictional friends on it too. That’s just who I am and I’m not ashamed – and when and where I can shout this love of literature from the rooftops, I will do so in whatever ways possible!

JNG

Girl with a Green Heart

*I am not at all in collaboration with Wick and Fable or Blissfully Bookish (I wish!); I bought these items totally of my own accord because they are wonderful!  I just couldn’t resist gushing about them!*

Talk to me! :) What do you think?

